FROM PAST TO PRESENT
In the early fifties the brothers Noël and RobertDe Scheemaecker decided to build a large breedingstation for racing pigeons. The building site was started in 1955. As early as 1956 the first young pigeons were delivered to Natural clients. The construction of the Breeding Station, which in no time developed into the largest Breeding Station for racing pigeons in the world, constituted an enormous challenge. Never before so many pigeon lofts were built at one and the same spot: 55 lofts of 25m2, divided into 660 sections. Never before so many pigeons of the most famous Belgian races were brought together. This extraordinary project became a success tanks to the considerable financial efforts and commitment of the De Scheemaecker Brothers and their staff members. Two thousand breeding pigeons were purchased from the most famous Belgian fanciers, but also from some French and Dutch champions. These breeders constituted the basis for the Natural Breeding Station as we still know it today.
The object of the De Scheemaecker Brothers with the building of the Breeding Station, was to offer the ordinary pigeon fancier who has only limited resources the possibility to get a young pigeon that belonged to a famous strain without having to pay for it. Indeed, the purchase of 250 kilos Natural mixture entitled the buyer to a free young pigeon. However, in 1971 a law was passed in Belgium of the sale with a premium. As a result of this law it became forbidden to offer a free young pigeon for the purchase of 250 kilos of Natural mixture. The De Scheemaecker Brothers then decided to sell the young pigeons from the Breeding Station for next to nothing, a price that every pigeon fancier was able to pay. This is how over 1.5 million pigeons were supplied world-wide. Not everyone becomes a successful player with the pigeons from the Breeding Station. Not every pigeon bred at the Breeding Station becomes a top flyer or a top breeder. That is the die-hard reality and we do not try to deny this. Far more important than this is the fact that after more than half a century the Natural Breeding Station still exists and that almost every year the demand is higher than the supply. This is the best possible evidence for the quality of its pigeons and the earnestness with which the sale is handled.
In 1936, the creation of the company “Natural Granen” was not the first time the brothers Noël and Robert De Scheemaecker invested in the world of pigeons. Apart from their passion for pigeon racing they were already well-known and respected for publishing the popular magazine “Duifke lacht/Pigeon Rit” in Dutch and French since 1930. Founding “Natural Granen” to produce special pigeon feed seemed to be a logical step. In 1949, the family De Scheemaecker launched the Heirman pigeon clock, then the Junior pigeon clock in 1952 to finally proceed in 1955 to construct the breeding station as we still know it today. More than 70 years later “Natural Granen” is still managed by the De Scheemaecker family and the company exports to more than 46 countries worldwide. This is unique in the world of pigeon racing. “Natural Granen” is internationally renowned for feed, care and breeding of racing pigeons. Our strengths are: more than 80 years of experience with pigeons, more than 75 years of experience in publishing pigeon magazines, more than 70 years of experience in manufacturing grain mixes and by-products, more than 50 years of experience in managing the largest and oldest breeding station for racing pigeons in the world.
February 1, 1998 was an important day for the Natural Breeding Station. The pigeon Museum was inaugurated by Noël De Scheemaecker and his son Frans, founders of the Natural museum, in the presence of a number of visitors. This pigeon museum was originally located in the south of France but the founders considered that Belgium was a better place and then more specifically at the Breeding Station… the oldest and largest pigeon village in the pigeon’s world. Indeed, there is no more beautiful place for a pigeon museum than when it is surrounded by pigeons. The museum is open to visitors during visiting hours in February and early March. Besides a superb collection of pigeon clocks, all kinds of unique items are on display as silent witnesses of the history and evolution of the pigeon as courier, soldier and homing pigeon.